January 30, 2023

Dubai Week

Complete Dubai News World

Among them are 11 scientists, including Arabs  Science

Among them are 11 scientists, including Arabs Science

Announced Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters Today, Wednesday, June 1, 2022, the names of the winners of the global “Cowley Prize” will be announced.

Prize winners:

1. Connie Airtz (Belgium), Jன்rgen Christensen Tolskart (Denmark) and Roger Ulrich (USA) were awarded the Cowley Prize for Astronomy for their research contributions that revolutionized our understanding of the interior of stars.

2. David Alara (USA), Ralph Nosso (USA), Jacob Zakiv (Israel) and George Whitesight (USA) were awarded the Cowley Prize for Nanoscience – at the molecular level – for allowing unprecedented control of surfaces. Geometry for surface properties.

3. Jean-Louis Mandel (France), Harry Orr, Christopher Walsh (USA) and Hoda Chokby (Lebanon / USA) received the Cowley Prize in Neuroscience for their discovery of the genetic basis of many brain disorders.

The award is given every two years to scientists who have transformed our understanding of the larger universe (astronomical physics), smaller universe (nanoscience), and complex universe (neuroscience). Each winning category will receive a $ 1 million prize, a gold medal and a certificate of appreciation. The winners will receive their awards at a ceremony in the Norwegian capital, Oslo, on September 6.

Preface to the Nobel Prize

The award was first presented in 2008. So far, 65 scientists have won this prestigious award, and 10 of these scientists have since won the Nobel Prize in Science.

எ Erdem Badapodian and David Julius, recipients of the Cowley Prize for Neuroscience in 2020. Both scientists were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2021 for their discovery of “temperature and touch receptors”.
ஜெ Jennifer Dowdna and Emmanuel Sarpentier, recipients of the 2018 Cowley Prize for Nanoscience. Both scientists were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2020 for their contribution to the development of CRISPR-Cas9 technology for genetic editing.
கி Gip Thorne and Rainer Weiss, recipients of the 2016 Cowley Prize in Astronomy. Both scientists were awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics for their discovery of “gravitational waves”.

It is noteworthy that the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters receives nominations for this award from international academies of heavyweights and other scientific institutions such as the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the French Academy of Sciences, the Max Blanc Society in Germany, and the National Academy. Science in the United States and the Royal Society in the United Kingdom.

See also  A study of young people on the margins of Tunisia .. Mental health and dangerous behavior

The Academy appoints 3 independent committees to review and discuss the recommendations received and then submits to the Academy the recommendations that have won their consensus.

The Cowley Prize was established in 2005 by a joint project of the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research and the Cowley Foundation. The Cowley Prize is one of the earliest activities initiated by the Foundation with the aim of honoring scientists and appreciating renowned research. In 2008 he was awarded the first prize.