Friday, June 14, 2024

American female athletes ensure equal pay for men


D + D – Normal size

The U.S. women’s soccer team won a court battle that won $ 24 million in compensation and the National Football League’s pledge, with both parties announcing in a joint statement Tuesday that the men’s team will receive equal pay after a long struggle.

The agreement states that “the American Football Confederation guarantees equal pay for women’s and men’s national teams in all friendships and tournaments, including the World Cup, a copy of which was obtained by AFP.

The issue of equality and prize money for the World Cup made up the bulk of the lawsuit filed after the U.S. women’s team won the World Cup in 2019, accusing the federation of “stubbornly denying them equal pay”. Colleagues on the men’s team.

In an interview with ABC shortly after the announcement of the deal, American football star Megin Robinho said: “Today is the moment we have been watching for years and the moment American football has changed for the better.
“It is clear that we can not go back and undo the injustice done to us, but we know that such a thing will never happen again.”

His colleague Alex Morgan described the deal as “a major improvement in terms of appreciation, respect and adjustment of our relationship with the US Confederation”.

The deal will provide $ 22 million to players, while $ 2 million will be earmarked for a special account to help them “after their careers and career-related endeavors in football for women and girls”.

The settlement would be conditional on a new collective agreement, which would have to be approved before it could finally be approved by the court.

See also  Mohamed Salah wants to be with Liverpool until the "last day" of his football career

A federal judge had previously dismissed the players’ case, before the team appealed the decision.
The case in 2019 pointed to discrepancies in World Cup prize money for both teams in 2014 and 2015. The men’s team received $ 5.375 million for reaching the final in Brazil, while its women’s team received $ 1.725 million for winning the title in Canada.

The National Federation said at the time that things were not in his hands as the financial prizes were determined by the International Sports Federation (FIFA), which awarded the French team $ 38 million for winning the 2018 World Cup in Russia. 2017. Only four million dollars for American women to win the last world title in France in 2019.

Based on his participation in the World Cup (8 times), he has won the championship four times (one record), and finished second in 2011 and third in 1995. .


Camelia Garner
Camelia Garner
"Explorer. Problem solver. Certified reader. Incurable web expert. Subtly charming travel guru. General student. Twitter evangelist."

Share post:


More like this

Exhibition Stand Builders in Dubai

Dubai, a global hub for trade and commerce, is...

Unlocking the Power of Booking Engines in the Hospitality Industry

In an era dominated by technology, the hospitality industry...

Artificial Intelligence in Daily Work

Using AI has become a part of our everyday...

Fit and Fabulous in Dubai: Strategies for Succeeding in Weight Loss with a Busy Schedule

Achieving weight loss while maintaining a busy schedule in...