May 17, 2022

Dubai Week

Complete Dubai News World

الهلال والنصر في نهائي 2000

Championship since they fasted .. Arab Club Championship Cup Champions

“Samwa on Her Championship” is a series of daily episodes presented by “Al Ain Sports” during the month of Ramadan, which talks in detail about the competitions that have been canceled over time.

The history of Arab and international football is full of many important matches that were canceled for various reasons and went into oblivion.

After reviewing the many matches that have been canceled before, today we will discuss a match that is well known to the Arab people who followed the round witchcraft matches of the nineties of the last century. This is the winner of the Arab Club Cup.

When did the Arab League Cup Champions League start?

The Arab Cup Winners Club Championship began in the late eighties of the last century and lasted until the beginning of the new millennium, with local cup champions from Africa and Asia in Arab countries taking part.

The tournament was created in the same way as the Cup Championships in Europe, Africa and South America because it was the second most important Arab tournament.

Nevertheless, the tournament continued from 1989 to 2001, when the tournament was canceled only once in 1990, rather than the Champions League.

Record the champions of the Arab Club Championship Cup

Teams from the African continent almost completely dominated the Arab Cup winning trophies, with the Arabs of Africa winning 10 out of 12 titles, while the Arabs of Asia won only two titles in 1999 for Qatar al-Kharafa and then for Saudi Hilal. In 2000.

See also  It is true that Ancelotti was removed from the post of coach of the Real Madrid team

Morocco’s Olympic de Casablanca was the most decorated club with 3 consecutive titles between 1991 and 1992, followed by MC Oran with consecutive titles in 1997 and 1998, and Tunisian State with first and last titles in 1989 and 2001.

Egypt’s al-Ahly, Tunisia’s Africa, Morocco’s Olympic team, Al-Gharafa and al-Hilal each won the title once.

Why was the Arab Cup Club Championship canceled?

At the time, the European Football Association “UEFA” decided to cancel the European Cup trophy, and the African Football Confederation (CAF) later did the same.

The Arab Union, for its part, in light of the excellent continental and local relations for Arab teams, would do well to cancel the Cup Championship, and it would be good for local Cup champions to participate in the League Champions League. It became the Arab Champions League and later the Arab Champions Club Championship.