March 25, 2023

Dubai Week

Complete Dubai News World

China has apologized for not hosting the 2023 Asian Cup

China has apologized for not hosting the 2023 Asian Cup

China has apologized for not hosting the 2023 AFC Asian Cup, the Continental Federation announced today, in the aftermath of the Kovit-19 epidemic, at a time when the country has been battling the worst spread of the corona virus since its outbreak.

Following China’s selection to host the Extraordinary Meeting of the General Assembly in Paris on June 5, 2019, the tournament is scheduled to take place in 10 Chinese cities from June 16 to July 16, 2023, with the participation of 24 teams.

“After extensive consultation with the Chinese Football Association, the Chinese Football Confederation informed the Asian Football Confederation of its inability to host the 2023 AFC Asian Cup,” the federation said in a statement. In due course.

The Asian Cup is included in a series of events that have been canceled or postponed in China, especially the “Hangzhou 2022” Asian Games scheduled for September. China is finally facing a new epidemic caused by the Govt-19 virus. This led to the closure of several cities and the confiscation of the homes of millions of residents.

The AFC added that it had taken into account exceptional circumstances caused by the Kovit-19 epidemic, which led to the waiver of China’s hosting rights and that it had worked closely with the “Chinese Football Association and the local organizing committee for the 2023 Asian Cup.” Significant steps have been taken, including the release of construction work on the stadium last year.

Although the federation expressed its “praise for China”, “the general interests of the 2023 AFC Asian Cup are difficult but necessary because the AFC will have ample time to assess the circumstances surrounding the hosting of the 2023 AFC Asian Cup.”

See also  Saudi national team crosses the barrier of Japan with the goal of Al-Brykhan in the World Cup qualifying round

Twenty-four teams from China (formerly hosted), Japan, Syria, Qatar, South Korea, Australia, Iran, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Oman, Vietnam and Lebanon have qualified for the tournament. The third round of qualifying is scheduled for June 8-14.

Japan holds the record for the most number of titles (3) against Saudi Arabia and Iran, while Qatar won the first title in its history in 2019 in the United Arab Emirates.

Follow our latest local and sports news and the latest political and economic developments via Google News